2nd T20I: Rovman Powell, Brandon King, Obed McCoy star as West Indies beat Bangladesh by 35 runs

Rovman Powell powered his way to a 28-ball 61 as West Indies defeated Bangladesh by 35 runs in the second game of their three-match T20I series on Sunday, June 3 at Windsor Park, in Roseau, Dominica.

The hosts lost the early wickets of Kyle Mayers and Shamarh Brooks, but Brandon King and Nicholas Pooran steadied the ship. The duo put on 74 runs for the second wicket and laid the platform for the other batters.

Pooran was a tad circumspect as he scored a 30-ball 34 before Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, who bowled a wicket-maiden, trapped him plumb in front. King, on the other hand, scored 57 off 43 balls with seven fours and one six.

However, it was Rovman Powell who gave the West Indies innings a finishing kick. The right-handed batter notched the joint third-fastest T20I half-century for the Caribbean team off only 20 balls.

Powell stayed unbeaten on 61 off 28 and made sure that the home team set Bangladesh a formidable target of 194 to chase down. Shoriful Islam picked up two wickets for the Tigers, but leaked runs at an economy rate of 10.


Bangladesh made a horrid start to their run-chase as Obed McCoy removed both their openers, Amanul Haque Bijoy and Liton Das, in double quick time.

Skipper Mahmudullah hit Odean Smith for a six and a four before holing out to McCoy at mid-off in the same over. Afif Hossain Dhrubo and the seasoned Shakib Al Hasan put on 55 runs to help the Tigers make some sort of a recovery.

Romario Shepherd separated the duo after Dhrubo, who scored 34 off 27, played a mistimed scoop into the hands of the keeper.

Nurul Hasan looked promising in the first T20I, but couldn’t get going in the second. He perished while trying to take the attack to left-armer Akeal Hosein.

Shakib scored a half-century off 45 balls, but he didn’t get a whole lot of support from the others. The veteran stayed unbeaten on 68 off 52 with five fours and three sixes, but it could only take Bangladesh to 158 for six in 20 overs.

The third and final T20I of the series is set to take place on Thursday, July 7 at Providence Stadium in Guyana.

Source link

Leave a Reply