Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja return to India’s ODI squad for 3-match series vs England

The BCCI has announced India’s 17-member squad for the ODI series against England. The team for the three matches will be led by Rohit Sharma.

The games are scheduled to be held on the 12th, 14th and 17th of July. London will be hosting the first two matches of the series, while the third game will be played in Manchester.

Sharma, who has been ruled out of the rearranged Test match against England, will be back to lead the team in the series which will also see the return of Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja.

Pandya, who was the captain of the recently-concluded T20I series against Ireland, will be making his first appearance in the 50-over squad after almost a year, with his last outing coming against Sri Lanka in July 2021.

Jadeja has been away from the ODI squad for even longer, with his last appearance coming in Australia in December 2020. The new face in the squad will be Arshdeep Singh, who has been a star in the IPL for Punjab Kings over the past few years.

While he was selected for the T20I series against Ireland, Singh couldn’t get a game and will be hoping to get a chance against England during the three matches.

The hosts will have a new limited-overs captain at the helm as Eoin Morgan decided to retire from international cricket earlier this week. England has appointed wicketkeeper Jos Buttler as the new skipper for the ODI and T20I formats.

The ODI series will follow the T20I series which will be played on the 7th, 9th and 10th of July.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, J Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Shami, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

Source link

Leave a Reply