Rohit Sharma to lead India’s T20I side in 3-match series vs England, Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant to miss first game

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), named an 18-member squad for the three-match T20I series against England. Former national skipper, Virat Kohli, won’t be a part of the opening T20I to take place on Thursday, July 7 at The Rose Bowl in Southampton.

Rohit Sharma was earlier ruled out of India’s fifth Test against England after he tested positive for Covid-19 earlier this week. The Nagpur-born veteran will be back to lead the team in the white-ball matches on English soil.

Umran Malik, who was brilliant in the second and final T20I against Ireland, has been retained in the squad. Rahul Tripathi didn’t get a chance to represent the national team in the T20I series and he will be hoping to get a game against Jos Buttler and Co.

Jasprit Bumrah didn’t play in the T20I series against South Africa and Ireland, but has been included in the team for the last two matches against the Three Lions. Ruturaj Gaikwad is a part of the opening game, but won’t be taking part in the last two clashes against the Brits.

Rishabh Pant won’t be a part of the opening T20I, and will return for the second and third matches of the series. Pant also didn’t take part in the T20I series against Andrew Balbirnie’s Ireland.

India’s squad for 1st T20I: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

India’s squad for 2nd and 3rd T20I: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik

Source link

Leave a Reply