West Indies vs India | Shikhar Dhawan-led India arrive in Trinidad for 3-match ODI series against West Indies

Shikhar Dhawan-led India have arrived in Trinidad for the three-match ODI series against West Indies, which begins on July 22.

The Men in Blue are coming on the back of an ODI series win in England. The team, however, will not feature the likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, who are all rested for the ODI series against West Indies.

The three matches will be played between July 22 to 27 at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad. In the absence of regular captain Rohit, Dhawan was named to lead India while Ravindra Jadeja was picked as vice-captain. The team features Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav and Shreyas Iyer. Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan have both been named in the side.

Deepak Hooda, who smashed a sensational hundred against Ireland in the second T20I and played a crucial role in the first T20I against England, has also been added to the side. Notably, Rohit, Kohli, Bumrah and Shami were also rested for the five-match T20I series against South Africa.

After the three-match ODI series, India and West Indies will play five T20Is between July 29 and August 7. Rohit, Pant and Pandya will return to the Indian side for the shortest format series, while Kohli, Bumrah and Shami will miss the T20Is as well.

India squad for 3 ODIs against West Indies:

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.

— ENDS —

Source link

Leave a Reply